This is Terrible, Just Terrible…
Sometimes I have a hard time restraining myself, I got some spam the other day and felt it necessary to reply.
Dear Manager,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china. Right now we have an important issue to confirm with you.
Yesterday, We formally received a domain name registration application. One company which self-styled “MCMAXX INC” were applying to register ” fcpgroton ” as Internet Brand and following domain names:
fcpgroton.cn / .com.cn / .net.cn / .hk / .com.hk / .tw / .com.tw / .asia / .in
After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company’s, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for “MCMAXX INC”. Therefore please let the relevant person make a confirmation with me as soon as possible.
Looking forward hearing from you. Thanks
Best Regards.
Mark Qian
My spam sense started tingling, so I sprung into action.
Oh my God Mark,
This is terrrible! Just terrible!
Who owns MCMAXX INC? How can I contact them? I need a home address, a list of his children’s names, their school schedules, bedtimes and their 10 greatest fears as well.
I will handle this matter personally.
Thanks for bringing this to by attention.
Regards,
Alex “Ice Cream Killer” Frank
Maybe some of you got the Family Guy reference in there. Now, Is it possible it was just a fishing scheme, searching for addresses? Of course, but the thought of a good troll overwhelmed me. So I pushed those worries aside. Later that day, early morning in China, I got a delightfully unfazed return from Mr. Qian.
Dear Alex,
I am very sorry. We do not have their permission,We have no right to provide their detailed information to you.
If you think this is necessary, you can investigate by yourselves, but not from us. Thank you.
Many thanks for your confirmation.I knew your company have registered the domain name *fcpgroton“.
Best Regards,
Mark Qian








